A Christmassy Diversion

Knittingwise, my last few weeks have been a mass of stockinette.

IMG_3069.jpg

I’ve been working my way up the body and the sleeves of my cardigan. It’s a bit tedious – I can’t wait to get to the yoke pattern section but this bit just has to be done. One more sleeve to go; I’m aiming to get this done by next weekend.

I chose to knit the sleeves using DPNs and now I wish I’d done magic loop. It’s hard to keep the tension tight when I change needles; even though I’m shifting the stitches across, it’s creating unevenness.

IMG_3070

Maybe I’m being too fussy, expecting it to look as neat as a shop bought. Hopefully, it will improve with blocking too. I’ve not had this problem before  – maybe it’s something to do with the qualities of the yarn I’m using.

I thought it would be fun to make some fairisle Christmas baubles to either keep or give as stocking fillers, partly depending on how they turned out. This first one was a tester – hence the icord which needs sewing back more tightly.

IMG_3071

This was a quick but interesting knit – something to think about in every row (so the perfect antidote to the stockinette). I’m planning to make some in the reverse colours too. The pattern was free from Mary Stephens’ two strand blog.

Now, back to that final sleeve…

Leave a Reply

