Learning how to Count.

I know how to count but keeping the right number of stitches on my needles is another matter.

I’ve got to the lacy part of my scarf and its finally starting to come along after some stop- starts.

It’s my first attempt at reading a lace-knitting chart. I downloaded the pattern; at first it seemed straightforward enough – I knew how to do all the stitches. But when I got to the charts, they didn’t make sense at first. I didn’t know the codes and how the edge of the pattern reflected the edge of my knitting. This blog post from Tin Can knits made it so simple though:

http://blog.tincanknits.com/2014/06/06/how-to-read-a-knitting-chart/

Getting the hang of a new code
Getting the hang of a new code

I got started – it all seemed simple enough….. but in fact this has proved to be the most tricky piece of knitting I’ve done so far. I discovered how easy it is to miss a yarn over and then find yourself with the wrong number of stitches and a gap in your pattern in a few lines time. Knitting when I was tired was part of the problem – I needed my wits about me. Maybe it’s still a lack of knowledge, but it seems impossible to correct without ripping your knitting back to where the problem started.

Of course, this was what I had to do. As I transferred for one chart to the next, I realised that the rows just didn’t seem to sit next to each other – too many botched corrections had taken place.

It’s starting to come along now – I’m learning to count more carefully, checking that I have the required 12 stitches in each section of the pattern (stitch markers have become my life saver!).

Lacy pattern
Lacy pattern

It looks pretty too – I have a lovely sense of satisfaction as I can see I’m acquiring a skill that is genuinely tricky. My garment will be one that I would have looked at before thinking, “How do they do that?”

I’m enjoying it as well- it’s making me think and concentrate.

Another thing I have learnt though is that there is a need for several WIPs. I’ve resisted this so far thinking that if I keep starting things, I will never finish them (of course, this may be true). But there is definitely a type of knitting for being tired in front of the TV and a type of knitting for when you are in the mood to concentrate.

Leave a Reply

