Expanding..

My colour work cushion is finished and looking fabulous if I do say it myself. I’m very pleased with the final result. After knitting, I found the colourwork side was quite a bit tighter than the stocking stitch side. I decided that blocking was needed; I’ve never done it before so I consulted the blogs and found out how to do it. But it needed blocking pins.. I called the local knitting shop and they don’t stock them, she explained there wasn’t much demand. I wondered about this. On Twitter, everyone seems to block,  but day to day, do others bother? My mother in law, who is far more experienced than me, tells me she never blocks jumpers and only presses when the whole piece is put together. Do you block? If so, please explain the benefits..

The advice I was given was to press the wool on a cool heat (to avoid felting) and to stretch it. I did this and it worked beautifully, brought a lovely soft cushion pad and stitched it all together. My cushion is soft and warm. And quite unique.

The front.
The front.
The detail
The detail
The back
The back

The pattern came from Easy Fair Isle knits by Martin Storey and was made with Rowan Felted tweed.

The heel
The heel
The detail
The detail

The socks are coming on well too. I’ve managed to successfully turn the heel and have got used to the DPNs. I do tend to drop and have to pick up stitches quite a bit as I don’t always remember to push them down the needle when I change needles. Also, I keep forgetting to put in the purl stitch in the rib pattern so a few corrections there. All in all though, these socks will be wearable! and I’m enjoying making them.

It’s my daughter’s birthday in a few weeks and this has led me to a new project but not a knitting one! She wants a beanbag and I won’t be knitting that. I’ve looked around and the ones I can find to buy don’t inspire. Jennifer will be 11 and she wants this for her room. She’s grown out of the small child pretty pink cartoon phase but isn’t ready for the neutral coloured adult phase. I offered to sew her one.

In my teenage years and early twenties, I used to be a prolific dressmaker. This fizzled out with work, cycling and very small children. I didn’t have time. But I still have the equipment and the skills (although rusty) so we bought the fabric. It was expensive and that was a shock. The homemade version will cost more than a bought version, even though the fabric was heavily discounted in the sale! But never mind, I will enjoy making it and it will be pretty.

The pattern
The pattern
The fabric - it's from Cath Kitson - costly, even in the sale, but pretty!
The fabric – it’s from Cath Kitson – costly, even in the sale, but pretty!
One thought on “Expanding..

Leave a Reply

