What next?

I’ve finished the first half of my Fair Isle cushion – the back is fairly easy stocking stitch knitting so I’m hoping to complete this quickly. This means that my mind can shift to choosing my next project.

I love doing this – I get inspired by looking at yarns and beautiful patterns – many of which look very tricky!

Many patterns require knitting in the round- I’ve never done this so I want to learn. Where better to start than with socks. Looking at others’ blogs, knitting socks seems to be compulsive and an art form in itself. I’d never really thought about knitting socks – they get hidden in your shoe – but I’ve seen some lovely colourful ones that make me want to knit some.

So I’ve decided to knit socks- there’s a raft of new terminology and techniques awaiting me. I’m discovering that double pinned needles, heel flaps and Kitchener toes are all to be learnt. You tube seems to have plenty of guidance for me though.

I’ve looked hard for the easiest possible pattern. The Rye socks from Tin Can knits looked good but I wasn’t sure of the needle size, so I’ve gone with this one from P/hop:
Medecin sans frontieres socks

image

The socks will be for my husband- he wanted merino wool- there was a discussion about what would be least itchy – and he also likes neutral colours.

I really wanted to buy this Falkland Island wool- it looks soft and also comes from a source I’d like to support – unfortunately, it wasn’t the right tension though. I will remember this yarn for a future project.

image

Instead, I went for this – I thought the shades within the wool would add a bit of interest but they are not too bright for him. It’s called Malabrigo Arroyo Sport Yarn – Plomo (043).

image

It’s all ordered – I’ll look forward to it arriving later this week.

Leave a Reply

