Biting off more than I can chew! Jenn’s jumper.

My next project has been a real test of knitting stamina.

I decided to make a jumper for my 10 year old daughter, Jenn. I’ve never completed a jumper before, except for a couple of baby jumpers so this was a challenge.

Jenn and I found a free pattern, “echo” on the Rowan website – it was in felted tweed. The yarn is lovely – the texture and blend of colours. It’s very soft – made of mainly Merino and Alpaca – not too itchy. It was fairly strightforward so I thought I’d have a go.

image

The aim was to make it in time for Christmas- she’s growing quickly and I wanted her to have time to wear it this winter. Next year, it won’t fit her. The timescale was 6 weeks- I was aiming for a piece a week with a bit of time left over.

Of course, it wasn’t so simple- a few small errors held me back a bit, then a disaster… I’d knitted the back with the wrong size needles. Has anyone else done this? I umed and arrhed- could I get away with it? It took a couple of days to come to terms with this.. before unravelling. Even that took ages, especially as the year got tangled and it took a while to unknot.

For the neck edge, I had to use a circular needle which I’ve never done before. From the video tutorials that I watched to work out how to use them, I gathered that some people swear by them. It seems that I am missing something, they seemed very fiddly… The loops kept getting stuck on the bit where the plastic joins the needle.

image

One day late and I finished it. I was pretty pleased with the result…

imageimageimage

Leave a Reply

